About Lilly Endowment
Lilly Endowment Inc. is an Indianapolis-based, private philanthropic foundation created in 1937 by three members of the Lilly family -- J.K. Lilly Sr. and sons J.K. Jr. and Eli -- through gifts of stock in their pharmaceutical business, Eli Lilly and Company.

Gifts of stock in Eli Lilly and Company remain the financial bedrock of the Endowment. We are, however, a separate entity from the company, with a distinct governing board, staff and location.

In keeping with the wishes of the three founders, Lilly Endowment exists to support the causes of religion, education and community development. The Endowment affords special emphasis to projects that benefit young people and promote leadership education and financial self-sufficiency in the nonprofit, charitable sector.

The Lilly family's foremost priority was to help the people of their city and state build a better life. Although the Endowment also supports efforts of national significance and an occasional international project, we remain primarily committed to our hometown, Indianapolis, and home state, Indiana.

Board of Directors Officers
Thomas M. Lofton

Daniel P. Carmichael

Craig Dykstra

William G. Enright

Charles E. Golden

Eli Lilly II

Mary K. Lisher

N. Clay Robbins

David N. Shane

Thomas M. Lofton

N. Clay Robbins
President & CEO

David D. Biber

Diane M. Stenson
Vice President
and Treasurer

Ace Yakey
Vice President
Commmunity Development

Sara B. Cobb
Vice President

Christopher L. Coble
Vice President

E. G. White
Vice President